Atigula Aziz, born in 1979 in an Uzbek family in Afghanistan, has been living in Munich since 1993, where he completed his painting studies with Axel Kasseböhmer at the Academy of Fine Arts and graduated as a master student.

The core of his painting is the representational representation. Against the background of his own biography, he blurs the real and the surreal, confronting the observed or the remembered with the imagined. In his work he deals thematically with the experience of isolation and isolation as well as the alienation of man from his natural environment. But he is also concerned with the sensitive perception of what surrounds him, and with curiosity about perceiving what he perceives from different perspectives and questioning viewing habits. Last but not least, the experience of being confronted with a completely different culture as a child plays an important role.

In addition, his work focuses on painting itself. The painting process, as well as the confrontation with form and color that he brings with him each time anew, is his real motivation. So he deals with the working methods of the old masters, because these open up the necessary space for a real engagement with painting. The successful implementation of an idea with these means is its driving force, even if it requires time and a certain persistence in the work process.

 

2000 to 2007 study of

Painting and graphics at the Academy of

Fine Arts Munich with Prof. Axel Kasseböhmer

2005 Master student of Prof. Axel Kasseböhmer

2007 diploma

Atigula Aziz lives and works in Augsburg.

Atigula Aziz, geboren 1979 in einer usbekischen Familie in Afghanistan, lebt seit 1993 in München, wo er an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste sein Studium der Malerei bei Axel Kasseböhmer absolvierte und als Meisterschüler abschloss.

Kern seiner Malerei ist die gegenständliche Darstellung. Vor dem Hintergrund seiner eigenen Biografie lässt er Reales und Surreales verschwimmen, konfrontiert er Beobachtetes beziehungsweise Erinnertes mit Imaginiertem. Dabei beschäftigt er sich in seinen Arbeiten thematisch mit der Erfahrung von Isolation und Abschottung sowie der Entfremdung des Menschen von seiner natürlichen Umwelt. Ihm geht es aber auch um die sensible Wahrnehmung dessen, was ihn umgibt, und darum, das Wahrgenommene mit Neugier aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln zu betrachten und Sehgewohnheiten zu hinterfragen. Nicht zuletzt spielt dabei die Erfahrung, als Kind mit einer völlig fremden Kultur konfrontiert gewesen zu sein, eine wichtige Rolle.

Darüber hinaus steht in seiner Arbeit die Malerei selbst im Zentrum. Der Malvorgang sowie die Auseinandersetzung mit Form und Farbe, die dieser jedes Mal von Neuem mit sich bringt, ist sein eigentlicher Antrieb. So beschäftigt er sich mit den Arbeitsweisen der alten Meister, denn diese eröffnen den notwendigen Raum für eine echte Auseinandersetzung mit der Malerei. Die gelungene Umsetzung einer Idee mit diesen Mitteln ist ihm treibende Kraft, auch wenn sie Zeit und eine gewisse Hartnäckigkeit im Arbeitsprozess erfordert.

 

2000 bis 2007 Studium der Freien 

Malerei und Grafik an der Akademie der 

Bildenden Künste München bei Prof. Axel Kasseböhmer   

2005 Meisterschüler von Prof. Axel Kasseböhmer

2007 Diplom

Atigula Aziz lebt und arbeitet in München und Augsburg.